Greek Elli Class Frigate 459 Adrias

Elli Class vessels are a group of frigates operated by the Hellenic Navy. The ships are of Dutch origin. The first two ships (the Elli and the Limnos), which had lengthened hangars and different armament were built specifically for the Hellenic Navy.


The remaining ships are ex-Royal Netherlands Navy S-frigates of the Kortenaer-class transferred to the Hellenic Navy in the late 1990s and early 2000s.



The Elli (F-450), for which the class is named, is itself named after two famous Greek cruisers, one of which was sunk during World War II. There is a midlife modernisation programme for six of the ten Greek ships. The Kountouriotis (F-462) and the Adrias (F-459) have been modernised. The other four ships are the Navarinon (F-461), the Limnos (F-451), the Elli (F-450), and the Aegaeon (F-460).

The main modernisation works to be performed are the following:

  • Replacement of the combat management system and installation of new sensors

  • Overhaul and improvement of radars

  • Replacement of navigation systems and upgrade of communications systems

  • Replacement of propulsion control system and of defined platform systems

Country of Manufacture Netherlands
Number in Service Greece 10
Crew 180
Armament 8 x RGM-84 Harpoon SSM, 8 x Sea Sparrow SAM, 4 x Mk46 torpedoes, 1 x 76mm Oto Melara gun, 2 x Sea Lynx helicopters
Length 130m
Beam 14.4m
Draught 4.4m
Displacement 3,800 tonnes
Powerplant 2 x Rolls Royce Tyne RM1C gas turbines and 2 x Rolls Royce Olympus TM3B gas turbines
Performance Max speed 30 knots range 4,700nm at 16 knots
First of Class 1976